Lovely food in London

Eating delicious things without paying a fortune in London is possible πŸ™‚ You don’t believe it? Read this post…

If you feel like eating meat and vegetables in a typical British pub you’re certainly looking for Wetherspoon, you can find the closest one on the website or just looking around… I really like their decor, wooden tables and chairs, carpeted floor, decorated windows… And then, the one I was in, had also a chimney in the middle surrounded by shelves of books so that it looked like one of those old libraries that you see in the movies…

Furnishing apart, let’s talk about food! They have a very long menu with a lot of stuff on it, from breakfast to dinner… Make sure you go there when you’re almost starving because their plates are full, seriously full of nice and good-looking food. The first time I went there I opted for a steak that usually is served with fries, but you can also ask for a jacket potato or mashed potatoes instead as I did and side salad… It was delicious! And… cheap! Everything plus a drink was just about 10Β£… nice huh?

If you go there on Sunday they have a special deal called Sunday Roast, and then you can choose among pork, chicken and something else… I chose the chicken and guess what? It was a huge piece of chicken coming with peas, carrots and cauliflower, mashed potatoes (or roast potatoes) and gravy… Well, it was simply great!!

Another option is to eat in Central London and to eat Italian food. This option might look quite expensive and risky. Expensive because is Central London, where every restaurant tries to make his fortune on tourists, risky because you never know if is actually Italian food what you’re going to eat. So, with some scepticism at first, my better half and I went to this good-looking restaurant called Prezzo, close to Leicester Square. Apparently this is also a chain since I saw some other restaurants with the same brand around the city… Anyway the waiter welcomed us and asked us where we would like to seat and then, once settled, he brought us the menu… My eyes were shining… It was like being home, that was my food!! We started our lovely dinner ordering two glasses of wine, Pinot Grigio for me and Merlot for my bf and then the starters… Ham and pear with parmesan, wild rocket and balsamic vinegar, Mozzarella in carrozza with tomato sauce and Marinated olives… All of them were not only well-presented but also fantastic!!

And then the mains…. even though the pics didn’t come out very well because of the light I can assure you that the aspect of this plates was enticing…. and the smell… hmm wow!! Just thinking about it makes me hungry again.. Anyway as mains we took Spaghetti with King Prawns forΒ my better half and Meatball lasagna for me… I loved it!!

As usual we were too full for the dessert… next time I should start with that, lol. Anyway for all this food we paid just above 40Β£ that is nothing if you take into consideration the quality of food and service and the location! We liked it so much that it has now become our favourite restaurant, you should try it πŸ™‚

14 responses to “Lovely food in London

  1. As a student, Wetherspoons is the place to be because it’s so darn cheap and the food isn’t bad, even though some people believe otherwise. And I love Prezzo – much better than Pizza Express, in my opinion.

    • Yeah definitely better than Pizza Express πŸ™‚ I really enjoyed it and can’t wait to go back there… πŸ™‚ Do u study in London?

      • Sadly, no, I’m studying in Oxford so we have a pretty poor selection of restaurants, especially compared to London! Probably why my friends and I are such good patrons of Wetherspoons haha!

      • Yeah, it’s very pretty and seems to be a ‘must-see’ city for lots of tourists. If you do decide to visit, feel free to message me and I’ll give you as much advice as I can πŸ™‚

      • Maybe next time I’m in Uk I will… πŸ™‚ and I will definitely ask for some tips, thanks

  2. Oh how I miss the british sunday roast from the local pub. I was salivating as I read your post, even made me a tad homesick! Glad you had fun & enjoyed some good english grub πŸ™‚

  3. I’m a big fan of cheap eats. πŸ™‚ Some places I’ve been to and enjoyed in London:

    Benito’s Hat (Mexican) http://www.benitos-hat.com
    Bi Bim Bap (Korean) http://www.bibimbapsoho.com
    Bistro 1 (Mediterranean) http://bistro1.co.uk
    Food For Thought (Vegetarian) http://www.foodforthought-london.co.uk
    Mamuska (Polish) http://mamuska.net

    A couple of less central but just as cheap & delicious places we’ve discovered in our new area (Golders Green) are:

    Likya (Turkish) http://www.likya.co.uk
    Dim Sum House (Chinese) http://www.dimsumhouse.co.uk

    (PS thanks for stopping by my blog! πŸ™‚

    • Oh wow!! Thanks πŸ™‚ I will try some of them out next time am in London πŸ˜€

      (PS thanks for stopping by too and leaving such a useful comment πŸ™‚ )

Leave a Reply

