Too many interests: success or failure?

I know, this should be a blog about travel and photography, it started as such and will probably continue on that path, but sometimes I find it quite restrictive, I would like to feel free to share other thoughts on different topics from time to time, as it is the case today…

While in class listening to a lecture of international law, I found myself thinking of all the interests I have and on how is difficult to pursue all of them but most of all a question got to my mind: having too many interests is the key to succeed or to fail?

As I wrote in the About me section I love travelling and taking pictures, translating and getting in touch with other languages and culture, am also interested in current affairs and international relations and after starting this blog I found myself interested in travel writing… but how to convey all these interests in a potential career? Which direction should I take?

This thought is becoming more and more pressing since in few months I will end my master program and eventually start looking for a job. A full-time job.

The best option (dream option?) would be to write and translate for a travel magazine, but I don’t have the right qualifications for that, so what’s next? I’ll probably relocate in London since I left there my heart and try to find something that suits me there, but I guess I should concentrate on one of my interests to have a chance and since I studied to be a translator that would be the most reasonable choice… But many agencies recruit freelancers and not in-house translators, so it wouldn’t be reliable in terms of money…

Life is so weird… you think all your life about a job or something you would like to do, and when you are close to the start you start to consider tons of alternatives, options that probably few years, even months before you would have never considered and this creates so much confusion…

Anyway, I still have few months to decide what to do next or at least to try and find out which would be the best option and then work on it… Let’s see what comes out in few months of thinking…

14 responses to “Too many interests: success or failure?

  1. 🙂 Mi piace mi piace mi piace questo post più personale.
    Io sono come te. Ho tanti interessi che mi spingono sempre verso direzioni diverse. Cosa voglio fare è ancora un bel punto di domanda grande come una casa, ma quello che ti posso dire è che avere tanti interessi non equivale al fallimento.
    Falli tutti tuoi e va dove ti porta il cuore. Prova a fare quello che ti piacerebbe, provaci. Se non funziona almeno potrai dire a te stessa “avevo proprio ragione”, ma se non lo fai rimarrai sempre col dubbio e con quell’enorme punto di domanda.
    Il mio consiglio è.. non pensarci troppo.. le emozioni ti guideranno.. almeno.. spero accada così.

    un abbraccio!

  2. So true, I’m in completely the same situation. There’s so many things I want to do, but I can’t help thinking I should just concentrate on the one – however, I don’t want to end up limiting my choices!

  3. It can be overwhelming when there are so many choices, but I think it’s wonderful that you have those options. It means that you are gifted in many areas and can try whatever you like. I would suggest that you do what you LOVE. Find out what you need to succeed in a particular job and follow that path.

    Thanks for the visit. 🙂

  4. Go for it, Lord knows I can’t stop blogging about all kinds of things!! Don’t restrict yourself, life’s too short. Share your passions and surely the World will be a happier place. Love Christine. x

  5. you know I love your blog and I think you’re doing a great job. Whether you write about travels or more personal topics you’re always so into your posts. So keep going, girl! Thanks for sharing your experiences around the world 😀

  6. My father once asked me if I’d rather know everything about one thing or a little bit about everything. For me, there was no question. I wanted to know a little bit about everything. If you’re like me, we’re curious people with many interests and talents. We are who we are. I’ve had four very different careers so far and enjoyed each in its time. You don’t have to follow one course to the exclusion of everything else. You just might not be able to do everything at once. I applied what I learned from each job to all my later jobs, thereby incorporating more of my interests into each successive job. Also, if my job didn’t address an interest, I continued to follow it outside of work, which helped me to stay sane at the time and, later on, to get new positions even more suitable for me. I don’t think you can go wrong following what you love. Good luck with what must be a difficult decision.

    Also, thank you for your comment on my blog. I’m glad you got a kick out of the Oreo cow.

    • Hi, thanks for stopping by and sharing your experience.. I’d love to combine all my passions in one job, but even if that’s not possible I will follow my interests outside work… am not the kind of person who gives up, so am confident, I will find a way to do the things I like somehow.. 🙂 Thanks again for your visit.

  7. I am glad you liked the pic I posted of the Taj Mahal! It led me to your post about deciding which direction to go, as you finish school. Another writer suggested get the qualifications to do the thing you love the most – then you can apply with confidence and knowledge, experience and passion, for the “work”. And then it won’t Be work!

    The Lioness

Leave a Reply

