Reasons to learn a language

This post is not mine, in the sense that I read it and done copy&paste because I liked some of the quotes, hope you like them too…

From: http://blog.livemocha.com/2012/03/inspirational-quotes-why-learn-a-language/

Here are some of the best reasons to learn a language, in the words of some of the most influential people this world has seen. What’s your reason? Let us know in the comments.

Be not the slave of Words.

‒Thomas Carlyle

Words, too, have genuine substance – mass and weight and specific gravity.

‒Tim O’Brien

Language is the means of getting an idea from my brain into yours without surgery.

‒Mark Amidon

Any man who does not make himself proficient in at least two languages other than his own is a fool.

‒Martin H. Fischer

“Words are the voice of the heart.”

‒Confucius

“The sum of human wisdom is not contained in any one language.”

‒Ezra Pound

“You can’t see other people’s point of view when you have only one language.”

‒Frank Smith

“If we spoke a different language, we would perceive a somewhat different world.”

‒Ludwig Wittgenstein

“No man should travel until he has learned the language of the country he visits. Otherwise he voluntarily makes himself a great baby – so helpless and so ridiculous.”

‒Ralph Waldo Emerson

You can never understand one language until you understand at least two.

‒Geoffrey Willans

If you talk to a man in a language he understands, that goes to his head. If you talk to him in his own language, that goes to his heart.

‒Nelson Mandela

I was often able to use my languages, and benefit from them. In learning my languages, I was able to do what the French call “joindre l’utile à l’agréable”, in other words combine usefulness and pleasure.

‒Steve Kaufmann

One language sets you in a corridor for life. Two languages open every door along the way.

‒Frank Smith

The limits of my language are the limits of my world.

‒Ludwig Wittgenstein

To have another language is to possess a second soul.

‒Charlemagne

Those who know nothing of foreign languages know nothing of their own.

‒Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

Language is the road map of a culture. It tells you where its people come from and where they are going.

‒Rita Mae Brown

Language is the blood of the soul into which thoughts run and out of which they grow.

‒Oliver Wendell Holmes

A different language is a different vision of life.

‒Federico Fellini

One response to “Reasons to learn a language

  1. Learning Italian has let me in under the skin of the culture I love. It’s let me feel much closer to the culture of my nonni. But more than that, it let me find myself. I love this post!

Leave a Reply

