BT Artbox(es) in London

Warning! This post will contain lot of pictures πŸ™‚

BT and ChildLine have decided to celebrate a British icon: the phone box! There are about 85 redesigned phone boxes around London these days!

Today I decided to go after some of them and this was not only a good exercise since I walked all around London but also a nice way to discover new spots which will require further explorations πŸ™‚

My loooong walk started from Tower Hill Tube Station and near the Tower of London I found my first phone box..

I took some other pictures around there, will save them for another post πŸ˜‰ Anyway, I crossed Tower Bridge and went down along the Thames on the other side… There I found other two boxes, but I think I missed a third one…

From there I walked toward London Bridge and then went into London Borough Market, where I found this colourful phone box

After that it was the turn of this Love, Life phone box, located in front of the Tate Modern Museum..

From there I had to do a diversione, because the bank of the river was closed for works around Blackfriars.. so had to take other streets, got a bit lost but at the end I found the way to South Bank and Embankment… no phone boxes there but lot of life as usual! I love that part of the city…

At Embankment Victoria I found another box, blue this time..

Then headed towards Trafalgar Square where I found the reproduction of the Big Ben, a Monster and a phone box with a plant inside!!

I kept walking and between Leicester Square and Covent Garden I found a wild phone box… A giraffe broke the roof of the phone box to eat some leaves…. (this is one of my favourites so far)

In Covent Garden there were quite a lot of them…. I like the one with butterflies…

From Covent Garden I went back to Leicester Square and then to Piccadilly where I spotted these two, even though I think they’re not the only two in that location…

My last destination for today’s walk was Soho where I found other 4 phone boxes… but there again, I think there should be more around that area!

It was a nice walk, maybe a bit long to do all in one day but I had fun! It would be nice to find all of them but is time & energy consuming so I don’t know if am gonna make it!! What is your favourite one?

For the names of the artists and more information click here

12 responses to “BT Artbox(es) in London

  1. So much fun! I want to make a phone call from the one that’s a padded cell! Brilliant, thanks for sharing the phone box insanity πŸ™‚

  2. These are brilliant! I did notice an unusual phone box at King’s Cross St Pancras the other day and there are two in the front garden of the Museum of Childhood but I haven’t come across any of the others, I didn’t know there was a city-wide thing going on! Thanks for sharing, I’ve got a cold at the moment and don’t have the energy to trek out to see them in person, so this is great. πŸ™‚

    • I am gonna check out some more this week if I have time, hope you’ll get better soon! If you have the chance go and check out some of them, they’re brilliant πŸ™‚ They will be exhibited until the 15th of July I think πŸ™‚ Thanks for your comment!

  3. Pingback: Boxed art – more of BT Artbox 2012 « Spectacular Sentience·

  4. One of the Soho boxes has moved to King’s Cross. I discovered your post when I was trying find out more about how it got there. Great photos! They make me even more sorry that I missed the event in 2012.

    • Oh I didn’t know it moved… I wish I saw more booths but didn’t have much time last summer…

Leave a Reply

