Capture the Colour..

They say a picture paints a thousand words.

Pictures really do speak. Not only through the object/scene/person represented, but also with  their colours. The composition of different colours, the predominance of one of them or their absence can completely change the look of the picture.

Travelsupermarket.com invites its readers to produce a post with up to 5 photos – representing the colours blue, green, yellow, white and red – rather than writing a five thousand words blog post. If you followed me during these months you would know that I never say no to a photographic contest/challenge or whatever you call it. I love photography, although I am not a pro. Taking pictures makes me happy, no matter what is going on at that particular time in my life.

So here are my entries for Capture the Colours!

BLUE…

This is Fedaia Lake, at the feet of the glacier Marmolada, the highest mountain of the Dolomites (Italy).

I took this picture few days before leaving home, it’s a sweet memory of an afternoon with my family. The calm of the lake, the fresh breeze, my mum’s smiles… this is what this picture is all about. And the blue in it just reinforces this sense of serenity and relax…

GREEN..

Going towards “Petite France”, Strasbourg (France).

I was on a study trip with my master colleagues and some of usdecided to explore the city during our free time. This part of the city is very pictoresque: alsatian houses, trees along the canals and so on.. French people – or so I think – love to be connected to nature, to ride a bycicle or walk on a Sunday morning to go and buy their baguette and catch up with the neighbours… I have this romantic view of France and Strasbourg, which is an international city because of the many institutions hosted there, but still keeps its village-like lifestyle… I fell in love with Strasbourg once more and looking forward to visit again…

YELLOW..

A great afternoon at Kalterer See (Italy) with one of my best friends.

Last summer one of my best friends of mine and I decided to go to the lake, mainly to do something different than usual. We got there and took this – believe me – super delicious ice cream with pineapple chops. I remember us, sitting by the lake, talking about dreams and projects and laughing a lot…

WHITE

The sound of silence. Home. (Italy)

One day you wake up, you look out of the window and you find yourself in a fairytale scenery. Do you know what I love about snow? The silence. Everything is silent when is snowing. The snow itself, when it falls, is so delicate that is almost impossible to hear it. The traffic stops. Nothing moves, neither people nor animals. Birds, squirrels, human beings are all trying to find some warmth in their shelters No one can resist it: for a couple of minutes, everyone will just remain still and silent… enchanted by the magic of the snow. I love to stay by my window and listen to the sound of silence.

RED…

“Why, Sir, you find no man, at all intellectual, who is willing to leave London. No, Sir, when a man is tired of London, he is tired of life; for there is in London all that life can afford.”
— Samuel Johnson

London. It’s difficult for me to explain what London means to me. It means a lot… It means freedom, opportunities, growth. It means never getting bored, which for me is fundamental since I get bored quite easily. It means being in one city and in the world at the same time, since the world is in London and am not talking about the Olympics. Life is about little pleasures: food, movies, walks, cultural events and so on.. and so is London.

This post was supposed to be about travels, and it is somehow, although 3 pictures out of 5 were taken in Italy. There I have some of my best memories, although my life is no longer there for now… Nostalgia sometimes takes over plus I think there are so many places I still need to see of my lovely ‘Bel Paese‘ but an entire world is waiting to be discovered out there…

Anyway… have to nominate 5 fellow bloggers to take up the challenge 🙂 My nominees are Lucid Gypsy, The Retiring Sort, A year in the life, Wind against current, Francine in retirement.

It is easy to participate, just click on this link and follow the three simple steps…

Related articles

39 responses to “Capture the Colour..

  1. I love your five color photo selections. Thank you for the nomination. I will try to find something in order to take part. Thanks for thinking of me.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

  2. Pingback: Capture the Colour « A year in the Life·

  3. Me too! http://restlessjo.wordpress.com/2012/08/13/capture-the-colour/
    This time last year I was in London for a girl’s celebration (not such girls- we were all retiring) and the others are all back there this week. I’ve been fielding “miss you” texts all day so the red bus speaks to me. I lived there for 4 years when I was much younger and I know exactly what you mean about the city. Autumn in Bruges?- do you live there now? Such a beautiful place, but I’d like to see Strasbourg too.

  4. No, I went to Bruges just once, for one day in Autumn and loved it, that’s where the name of the blog comes from and had no other ideas when I’ve created the blog 😛 I live in London at the moment… :)))) Will check out your post right now 🙂 thanks for stopping by and commenting…

  5. Pingback: Capture the Colour | Adventures We Seek·

  6. Pingback: Capture the Colour | Wind Against Current·

  7. Pingback: Capture The Colour | this man's journey·

  8. Pingback: I’m a blogging failure, will you forgive me? | Lucid Gypsy·

Leave a Reply

