My 2012.

2012 has been a tough but AMAZING year! It left me lot of good memories, some very good friends from all over the world and above all, optimism for the future.

It all started with part of my master program spent in the fabulous French Riviera, 3 months in the beautiful Baie des Anges, in Nice. Breathing the sea breeze and feel warmed up by the winter sun was a good feeling. Having lunch on the beach with two of my new and great friends is something I’ll never forget.

DSCN2099

DSCN2097

At the end of February I had the chance to experience and see the Carnival in Nice- they take it seriously there! The fireworks over the Mediterranean were something special.

DSCN1972 DSCN1912

On Saturday & Sundays, free of classes, I wondered around the old city of Nice, strolled on the beach or explored the neighboring towns, Cannes was one of my favorite!

DSC_0008

At the end of March I moved to Berlin for the last term of my master. Although it has lot to offer, it is not among my favorite places. A special consideration goes to the Ritter chocolate shop. D-e-l-i-c-i-o-u-s things are sold in there, and is so close to Friedrichstrasse that if you are shopping around there you cannot miss it!

DSCN2188 DSC_0471

April was the month of the study trip: two destinations already seen – Strasbourg & Brussels – plus one yet to see – The Hague. This was the trip organised by my university, to which I managed to add Keukenhof, the floral park open just 2 months per year! During the trip some friendships got consolidated and set the basis for further trips.

DSC_0065 DSC_0120 DSCN2495 DSCN2520 DSCN2688 DSCN2654

May was spent reading for the thesis and planning a 4 day trip to Prague & Budapest with my lovely friend Aygul. June saw us leaving on an endless bus tour, 36 hours on a bus in 4 days. 1 day and a half spent in each city, enough to fall in love with both of them, enough to taste the food, to shortly experience the culture and to admire their architectural beauties.

DSC_0113 DSC_0169 DSC_0560 DSC_0699

Time flew by and July brought my master to an end… goodbyes have not been easy. Separating from friends with whom I shared everything for 9 months brought tears and promises to see each other again asap and keep in touch.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

During the summer I spent some quality time with my family in Italy exploring some neighborhoods with my mum. Lazise, Fedaia and Carezza being the peaks of my wanderings!

DSCN0357 DSCN3304 DSCN0679

Afterwards, I moved back to London with my sweetheart… Found a job, left it, found another one..missed my friends everyday, caught up with some old friends over here and here we are, my first Christmas far away from home is already over and a New Year is knocking at the door.

DSC_0015 DSC_0044 DSC_0009

Happy 2013 everyone.

 

This post has been written in response to the Weekly Photo Challenge: my 2012 in pictures.

41 responses to “My 2012.

  1. I recognize those café tables outdoors in Den Haag! I’ve sat there myself with friends. Wonderful photos! What an amazing year of travel and experience. I hope 2013 is equally amazing.

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: My 2012 in Photos | Alastair's Blog·

  3. Your pictures are stunning… The first one is calming. 🙂
    ¸.•*¨*•.♪♫♫♪Happy New Year to You & Yours!.♪♫•*¨*•.¸¸ ♥
    ˜”*°•.˜”*°•.˜”*°•.★★.•°*”˜.•°*”˜.•°*”˜” Have a restful weekend!
    Eliz

  4. love. love. love. fantastic photos. i’m sad to see you don’t have coconut flavoured ritter sport. i guess the rumour is true and they have discontinued my favouritest flavour.
    thanks for sharing your photos.
    happy new year!

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: my 2012 in pictures « What's (in) the picture?·

  6. Wonderful photos of your year in 2012.
    Thank you for visiting my blog today. I appreciate the time you took to stop by. May your day be filled with joy and peace.
    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

  7. if you like ritter chocolate you should try kinder. Ritter brings out the season specials (which is my fav time of the year haha) 🙂 Great pictures!

Leave a Reply

