Go forth and wander this earth … solo travel is the new black.

Great tips to keep in mind when travelling..

Campari and Sofa

The first time I went on holiday on my own was in 1987. I had just been employed by Warner Music, all my debts had been paid via my Polygram ‘retrenchment’ package, I had a little left over and I had three weeks until my new job started.

So I took myself off to Eilat to learn to scuba dive. This being 26 years ago, dive schools were few and far between in Israel, but it had the best weather at the time, I could afford it and the local London BSAC club told me about a school run by some ex Israeli Military divers – “brutal but excellent. Plus the water’s warm and you won’t be diving in dark cold mines like you will here”.

I booked myself in at the King Solomon Hotel, the English chaps had advised: “stay somewhere nice, you’re going to need it.” Got frisked…

View original post 1,023 more words

2 responses to “Go forth and wander this earth … solo travel is the new black.

Leave a Reply

